Dún Laoghaire in Dublin
Dún Laoghaire (pronounced and occasionally spelled "Dunleary") is a port city some 10 km south of Dublin, Ireland.
From central Dublin by the DART suburban railway. It is also a stop on the mainline rail service from Dublin to Wexford and Rosslare.
The Dublin and Kingstown Railway, constructed in 1834, was the first ever railway in Ireland.
The town is served by a frequent bus service and the railway station is the terminus of the 46a, the most frequent and heavily used bus route in Dublin.
By Stena Line  ferry from Holyhead in Anglesey, north-west Wales. This is one of Ireland's main sea links with the UK.
A number of years ago, Lower George's Street underwent pedestrianisation, placing a ban on all general traffic with the exception of bus routes toward central Dublin.
- Sandycove Harbour Co. Dublin.
- James Joyce Museum about 15 min walk south of Dun Laoghaire on the coast road. The tower, with its gun platform and living quarters, remains much as Joyce described it. The Museum's collection includes letters, photographs, first and rare editions and personal possessions of Joyce as well as items associated with the Dublin of Ulysses. First editions of most of Joyce's works are displayed in the museum, including the original Ulysses published by Shakespeare and Company in 1922. The museum also contains one of two plaster death masks of Joyce by sculptor Paul Speck.
- National Maritime Museum Haigh Terrace, Dun Laoghaire. Situated in the former Mariner's Church, the Maritime Museum is open each weekend from 1pm-6pm. The principal exhib is the Bantry Longboat; a French Admiral's barge driven ashore in Bantry Bay in 1796. Other exhibits include the Optic from the Bailey Lighthouse and a cannon from the Spanish Armada
- Dun Laoghaire People's Park Upper George's Street, Dun Laoghaire. Beautifully laid out with different flower beds, this Victorian Park has a Children's Play Area and Tea Rooms. It is enclosed by wrought iron railings and gates and two very fine cast iron fountains manufactured by the Sun Foundry, Glasgow. A farmer's market is held here every Sunday.
- Moran Park Haigh Terrace, Dun Laoghaire. Overlooking the Harbour, Moran Park contains a Bowling Green. The central focus is the sculpture of "Christ the King" by internationally renowned sculptor Andrew O'Connor. Moran Park House was the location for the first wireless transmission by Gugielmo Marconi on 20 July 1898. He transmitted reports of the Kingstown(Dun Laoghaire) Regatta to this building for newspaper publication
- O'Briens Wine Beer Spirits (address: Unit 3, Pavilion II, Marine Road, Dun Laoghaire) (directions: Located on the main road that connects the town centre to the seafront) 01 2809827
price: Wine from €5
open: 10.30am-10.00pm Monday - Saturday, Sunday 12.30-10.00pm
Choose from a selection of 800 wines & an impressive range of beers and spirits.
- O'Briens Wines Beers Spirits (address: Unit 3, Pavilion II, Marine Road, Dun Laoghaire) (directions: Located on the main road connecting the town centre with the seafront) 01 2809827
price: Wine from €5
open: Monday - Saturday 10.30am-10.00pm, Sunday 12.30-10.00pm
Choose from 800 wines & a wide range of quality beers and spirits. email: firstname.lastname@example.org
- Harry's Cafe Bar (address: 21 Upper George's Street) 01 280 8337
Great Lunches. Raspberry muffins are recommended without hesitation. Blueberry muffins are out of this world.
- Alexi's Bar & Grill (address: 17/18 Patrick Street) (directions: From the church head up Patricks street, across the road from the pet shop.) 0035312808872
open: Daily 12:30-15:30 17:30-22:30 (approx.)
A nice restaurant with excellent service, friendly staff and delicious food! Well worth a visit (but book early, as it can be very busy)
- La Strada (address: 2-3 Cumberland Street) (directions: From the church head up Georges Street towards Dublin, La Strada past the junction with York Road.) 0035312802333
open: Mon - Thurs 17:30-22:45 Fri & Sat: 17.30 - late Sun 13.00 - Late
An authentic and rustic family run Italian restuarant with a warm and welcoming atmosphere and something to suit every budget. Offering a real taste of traditional Italian and Mediterrean food with daily specials. The owner and staff are amoung the friendliest in Dublin. (Booking recommended on weekends)
Dún Laoghaire boasts 11 bars and 4 nightclubs, mostly centred along the main street, Upper George's Street. They include “traditional Irish bars” like Walters, Scotts, Wiers & Dunphys.
- Marina House Hostel (address: 7 Dunleary Road) (+353-1) 284 1524
price: From €19 / night €105 / week
Right on DART and bus lines to central Dublin. Self catering kitchen. Dining room. Light breakfast included in room price. En-suite rooms available. Female-only Dormitories. Laundry facilities. Individual lockers available. TV room with open Fire. Barbeque area (weather permitting). Internet access. WIFI access.
- Rochestown Lodge Hotel (address: Killiney, Dun Laoghaire) +353 (0)1 285 3555
Rochestown Lodge Hotel in Killiney, Dun Laoighaire offers luxury accommodation with spa and leisure centre in Dun Laoghaire
- "Dalkey Castle & Heritage Centre" Castle Street Dalkey. Explore a fourteenth century fortified town house/castle. Climb to the battlements. Enjoy spectacular views of surrounding sea and mountains. Experience the tranquillity of the 10th century St Begnet's Church and Graveyard. Examine the models of Dalkey Quarry, the Funicular & Atmospheric Railways in the Exhibition space. Living History Tours with medieval characters from May 1st –October 31st. Guided Historical/Literary Walks: Mon 11.00; Wed 14.00 & Fri 11.00 (May 1st-August 31st) Bloomsday events on 16th June annually. Admission: Adults €6; Concessions €5; Child €4 & Family €16. Admission includes a short Introductory Tour. Open Mon-Fri 9.30-17.00 Sat/Sun Bank Hols 11.00-17.00 (excl Christmas)
- "Cabinteely House" This magnificient 18th Century House was built by Robert Nugent, Earl Clare and is now owned by Dun Laoghaire-Rathdown County Council. From 1933-1969 it was in the ownership of Joe McGrath who was well known in connection with the Irish Hospital Sweepstake and Waterford Glass. The house is situated in 96 acres of Parkland.
- "Marlay Park & House", Grange Road, Rathfarnham. This 18th century elegant house has been expertly restored by Dun Laoghaire-Rathdown County Council. Built in 1794 by David La Touche, of the La Touche Banking Family, it incorporates an earlier 17th century house. Of particular interest in the house are the stunning ballroom, the unusual oval music room and the elegant decorative plasterwork, some of which is attributed to James Wyatt. The house and its walled garden stand in a 214 acre park incorporating the Craft Courtyard, Coffee Shop, Tennis Courts, Golf, Football Pitches, lake and boathouse.
- "Killiney Hill Park", Killiney Hill Road, Killiney. This 200 acre Victorian Park high above sea level has breathtaking views from the summit across Killiney and Dublin Bay and the Wicklow Mountains. Walk through the woods and pathways with the coast always in view, ideal for picnics. Car park.